top of page

The Future...


I am so blessed and fortunate to be recovering as well as I have been. It's been quite a journey with every range of emotions and thoughts to process. One big thing that I think about quite often is, “What's next?” Today marks the 4 month anniversary of the hole in my head aka brain surgery. Automatically I was put on disability and for good reason due to the amount of time it takes to recover from something as serious and life threatening as what I've gone through. For me, not having a “job” or being able to contribute to the world around me has been mentally and emotionally challenging.

I have been working for as long as I can remember. I love to work. I love to know that I am making a difference. I love to lead people and I love to help people. I've loved being a leader not for the recognition, but as a leader you have the power to help others and mentor them so they can reach their highest potential. Now that I'm getting closer to the point where I can work again, I am struggling to decide, yet again, what I want to be when I grow up.

I've had some amazing jobs. During college I was a seasonal firefighter with CDF (now Cal Fire) and I loved it. If I didn't have an Army ROTC scholarship I probably would have stayed. It's a job that's physically challenging, you get to help people in many ways, and the adrenaline kick was always something I loved.

After college I was commissioned in the Army as a 2LT. I stayed in the Army for 8.5 years and I still miss a lot of what I took for granted. There's a sense of community, loyalty, and dedication that is missing in the civilian sector for sure. I was honored that I was given the responsibility to lead our fine young men and women. I literally got to travel the world which definitely opens your eyes and helps you to appreciate all that we have here in America, and trust me, we have so much more than you know!

Once I left the Army I went through a Head Hunter agency that specializes in finding military officers jobs in the civilian sector. I had interviews and job offers all over the country. But, in the end, after living all over the world and multiple deployments, I knew I wanted to come back to Nor Cal to be close to my family. I was hired to be the first female Team Lead for E&J Gallo in Napa/ Sonoma. The wine industry is fascinating and a fun industry to be a part of. I was fortunate to have some great jobs and receive great training with Gallo. I left Gallo so that I could move home to Auburn and be with my husband, daughter, and two stepsons because my family was, and is, the most important thing in the world to me.

My job following Gallo allowed me to meet some really amazing people and friends. I learned a lot about myself and worked with a huge variety of personalities. Ultimately after almost 5 years they did the “corporate restructuring” and I was unemployed for the first time in my life. (It still kinda hurts to type that!) Sadly, it's an all to common occurrence in the civilian sector nowadays. But, being laid off afforded me the opportunity to spend more time with my family, to try new things, and to go back and pursue my Master's Degree in Organizational Leadership (which was put on hold while I'm recovering).

All that being said, now I'm trying to figure out what to do with my life! Hahaha… I know that I want to help people- to make a difference in people's lives. I just need to determine what that looks like in an employment setting. I love to plan, organize, and to be a part of making a positive impact on our community. As I reflect on everything, I want to make sure that the time I spend here on earth is not wasted on things that don't matter. I want my life to matter! I feel that I have a greater purpose and I want to use the gifts I have been given to make a positive impact in the lives of others.

That being said, I also challenge your to always be growing, learning, and being a better version of you. Look at what makes you happy or the things you do that bring you joy and find ways to do these things to help others or your community. It doesn't matter your age or how much time you have, stop the excuses, and find a joyous way to use your gifts.

I know that for my husband he loves coaching, so every year for the past 4 years we are at the football field 5-6 days a week from July-November working to develop young men of character and to give kids the chance to be a part of something special. I believe helping our youth is vital, so 12 months out of the year I volunteer my time on the board of the Placer Jr. Hillmen and I do my best, with my fellow board members, to ensure our program provides outstanding opportunities for over 200 kids each season. It's a huge commitment and even after very long, hot, and sometimes challenging days, I love being a part of our football community.

As I look to determine my next path in life, I encourage you to look back and reflect on what you've done. Next, I want you to look at your life right now and see what impact you are having on those around you, your community, and beyond. In my last post I reminded ya'll that life is a gift. Now I will encourage you all to use this gift to the best of your abilities. Everyone's personal gifts and abilities are different and we should not judge ourselves against others, but I challenge each of you to be "your" best version of "you". Every single person is born with the ability to make a difference, the big question is whether or not they chose to make a difference.

Don't be self serving- choose instead to find ways to serve others and your community. It's easy to complain how bad things are, but a person with true character does the best they can to make the world around them a better place. One person CAN make a difference. No one is perfect and not every day is our best day, but try to do your best to live your life in a way that when you look back you know that you made an impact!

If you're not happy with your life I absolutely encourage you to go find a way to help others. In this you will find peace and gain a greater perspective on your own life. It's amazing how great you begin to feel when your energy is spent helping others and not just focused on yourself or your “problems.” If you don't know where to start, let me know! I will help you get started! Go volunteer with kids or adults for that matter- go paint rocks with them! It's super fun and a lovely little gift that reminds us that we are strong, creative, and capable! Start smiling and saying hello to people as you walk down the street! It doesn't have to be earth shattering people- just put yourself out there and do SOMETHING where you put others or nature or your community ahead of yourself.

I have no idea where I will land next, but I know I will find a way to make a difference. I have a few things in mind and I'm excited that soon I will be out there using my super powers for good. :)

Thanks as always for reading…

Much love!

Mel

bottom of page