top of page

Thankful to be Brave


Friends-

I wanted to share an email I received a little while ago from a dear friend. She too has been through what I have, but far worse I'm afraid. Ironically, I want to thank God and the Universe for my health issues because it has brought me to a new place in life and also reconnected me with dear friends. Life is a challenge and our attitudes on how we face these challenges will determine where we end up. Some days I want to say F the world and move to a cabin in the middle of no where. Other days I want to use my God given gifts and give my all to my community and those around me. I hear every day, “You look totally normal.” Awesome. I'm getting back to normal, but a traumatic brain injury is not normal and it's not like an ankle sprain or a broken arm where people can tell something is wrong. My brain surgery doesn’t show, but I feel its effects every day….

The below note is from Mrs. Patty Burgin, who is the wife of my former First Sergeant when I was a Company Commander (best job I've ever had) in Iraq… The people who know me know that I am far from perfect, but they also know that I will lay my life on the line for those I love and for the things I believe in. #Renegades

"My Dear Melany,

I told myself I was going to wait until I specifically heard from you, but we wanted to let you know that we are so relieved that you received "good" news from your doctor. I think we both felt as if we were holding our breaths until you had your appointment.

Melany, every time I read your blog(s), I want to respond but I won't because I know that this is your time and this is your road that you are traveling but I want you know that we have been on this same road and if you ever need a shoulder to cry on or ask questions to or just sigh to, we are here for you. I, so, know what you are going through from the gas and bloating, sweating, weight gain (I was 251 pounds). me I still suffer the headaches, I have balance issues, every day, plus, I know about the mushy feeling on the side of the head (the doctors surgically removed fat from my stomach and implanted in my head in order for me to not look lopsided. I am completely hollow on my left side.

Anyway, that is just the surface about me and I didn't want to make it about me, I just wanted you to know that we love you and certainly understand, and pray for you, every single minute of every single day. Say the word, dial the phone, we are here for you.

Until then, you are in our hearts, and in our prayers, along with your entire family

Patty"

These are the people that make me thankful for an unexpected brain surgery and tumor. It's easy to feel alone when you face these situations, but Patty and 1SG, you make me feel like I am not so alone... It really means the world to me.

We all need to remember how much our WORDS and ACTIONS can mean to others. No one asks to find some gigantic tumor in their brain that's literally been there for years, but they do so need their friendships to get them through it. Right after he found out about my surgery from Chris Stines, 1SG got a hold of me and told me he was going to fly in from Texas to see me immediatley. If that's not love, dedication, and true friendship, then I don't know what is.

Yes, I may look pretty normal, but I have had MFing Brain Surgery! I am working so hard to be normal again...thanks to those who have shown their love, support, and encouragement... Patty is one of the bravest, kindest, and toughest women I know. Thank you Patty for the love and support even in your darkest hours.... Much love to you and John.

Be Strong. Be Kind. Work Hard. On the worst days, I remind myself to "Suck it up Buttercup" because I am alive and recovering and that's not always the same situation for others...Thank you for the thoughts and prayers and love. It means so much more than you know. Kind words and a simple trip to the bike shop or store have helped me beyond words...

Be Brave,

Melany

bottom of page