top of page

Why Football is Good for Recovery


Hello Everyone! No, I did not fall off the face of the earth, I started to drive again and I haven't seemed to be able to slow down! I'm in the last week of two Master's degree courses and I have another HUGE paper due today, but my brain is too full to want to write about leadership theory (it's gonna be a looooong night....). BUT, what has really kept me super busy every single day is football. I love the game of football, the football families, and most importantly I love the kids.

We are getting towards the end of the 2016 season and it's time for a little reflection on football and brain surgery. This is my family's 5th year in the Placer Jr. Program and the 2nd year in PHS football. (AND, yes, I was a PJH and a PHS cheerleader about a million years ago now, so the Placer programs are near and dear to me...) Next year will be our last year in PJH and then 4 more years of PHS football and we retire.

For the last couple of years I have been the Vice President of the Jr. Hillmen which is a pretty big commitment of time and brain power. After my surgery I didn't know if I would be up to the task or even be able to perform my duties in this position. With the support of my husband who has been a coach the last 4 years and our PJH President, Chris F., I decided I would give it my very best shot. You see, at that point when I was basically couch bound and without a voice, it would have been very easy for me to quit PJH, but I didn't. I wasn't going to let a stupid tumor put me on the sidelines from doing something I love. Football is the only sport where you can put 11 kids on the field who are all shapes, sizes, speeds, and socioeconomic background and it works. I am so proud to be a part of all of it. I'm so thankful for the support of Rob, Chris, and my football family as well as the opportunity to continue to be a part of such an amazing organization that has been helping kids for over 40 years. (The below quote is from Chris 2 weeks after my surgery...)

My football family honestly was the most supportive of friends during my recovery. I will never be able to thank all of them enough for all they did for me from making meals, sending a house cleaners, driving me around, and general encouragement and prayers, even from families I didn't know so well- including the kids! It meant so much to have a caring and supportive group surround me during the times that I rarely even went out in public! It makes me tear up just thinking about all people did for me. I will be forever grateful.

I just think there's something special about football families. You may not always see eye to eye, but when times are hard, we all rally and are there for each other and the kids. Our PJH and PHS football families have been through extreme and horrific circumstances this year and I can promise you that we stood strong together to support the families affected by these tragedies, and we continue to stand beside them and support them in whatever they need.

Football families are amazingly generous as well. Every year, behind the scenes, we have been are taking care of kids who's parents cannot afford to take provide for them. From backpacks, to clothes, food, rides, and even a place to stay, I am so proud of the parents I have been surrounded by who, together, we have ensured that no child is left out or in need. Football gives every child a chance to succeed on the field and in life, so thanks to those who have made it possible for ALL kids to play.

It may sound strange, but I do credit a big part of my recovery to football. Being involved again this year has allowed me to push myself mentally and physically, while also being surrounded by a caring group of people that always had my back and were checking on me to ensure I was okay. They also have told me I have a year to use "Brain Surgery" as an excuse as to why I might have forgotten anything. LOL

The last thing I want to talk about are the kids. As a step-mom I basically adopted other peoples kids and love them on as my own. Well, as a football mom I tend to do the same thing. :) I dearly love the kids I've had the privilege to spend time with over the past 5 years. To our JV players, you are an amazing group of young men who have shown great character in the face of much adversity. I could not be more proud of you and always look forward to watching all of your games. You will move up to the big league next year which is awesome, but I will miss watching just you guys play football together as a team. Thanks for always being great kids and keeping me laughing as well. #HillmenStrong

To our current PJH players, especially my boys on the Jr. Midget and Midget teams, enjoy your last year/years of PJH. I know that you will continue to move on to do great things (and for some of you, work on your grades and staying out of trouble! SMH). To the coaches, board members, team moms and those who give above and beyond, thank you! I know it can feel like a thankless job, but I can guarantee that at the end of the day, you are making a huge impact in the lives of our kids. To the parents joining the board or PJH, please help continue the great program we have worked so hard to create. Remember, every single decision is made with the best interest of the kids and the longevity of the program.

My message to you, the reader. I hope that you have the opportunity to be a part of an amazing organization where you can give your time and resources to help others. The 14 hour game days in 100+ degree heat or torrential downpours are worth it so these kids have the chance to play ball and hopefully learn something about being on a team, learn respect, dedication, and hard work, and maybe one day carry on the tradition. If you are not a part of something that is bigger than yourself, or part of something where you can give of yourself without the expectation of anything in return, I highly recommend that you do. It truly is better to give than receive. Never stop working hard to make this world a better place in your own way, it's good for your health and a great way to recover from brain surgery.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Hope you find something in this blog that touches your heart, even if you're not a football fan. :)

-Mel

PS:I know this is a little long, but click on the picture below- I hope you take the time to watch it. Remember, appreciate every single day, give back to others, work hard and never give up! AND, I don't care how young or old you are- this applies! No Excuses People!

bottom of page