top of page

The Day I Went Man Down...

Here is my first entry for my blog regarding my particially classified, avidly enhancing extra-axail meningioma mass lesion impinging on the parenchyma of the high left frontal lobe...Or WTH!?!? I am going in for brain surgery immediately...

I was just taking in a beautiful Sunday morning in with my 6 year old daughter Alex and my husband, Rob. It was the Sunday after Christmas so we were very much looking forward to chilling out after the holidays. I had taken a hot shower and went in to the living room. I had been accustomed to little spasms on my right side (more in a later blog) and in order to combat them I would firmly plant my feet on the ground, breath, and say a little prayer to get through it.

This time was very different though. I wasn't able to just shake this one off. Before I knew it, I was alone in my living room, the light was fading into darkness, I had no control of my body, and was seizing up. In my head I tried to do whatever I could to get someone's attention by kicking my legs. At that point I totally and completely blacked out. It was by far one of the worst things I have ever been through or could imagine again.

The next thing I remember is the paramedics there on the living room floor calling out to me. These were real life angles right then. I will always be so thankful for their swift arrival and transport to the hospital. Thankfully we don't live to far from the hospital, ironically enough, just thinking about it, this is the hospital I was born in and had seen more than my fair share of ER visits during my life. My poor parents....

So, while I was out like a light, my sweet, brave, and courageous 1st grade daughter found me on the floor and immediately went to get her Daddy to tell him that Momma needed help. I will always be so proud of what a strong and smart little girl she was that day.

My husband, my poor husband. I cannot even imagine the intensity of that situation and just how amazingly well he handled it with strength and tremendous love. More on that later too.

Once we got to Sutter Auburn Faith ER they did a CAT Scan and determined that I had a sand dollar size meningeal in my dome. Apparently it's been there a while, but there's still a whole lot to learn about this whole situation. This all went down less than 11 days ago at this point. My family was there for me as always. My family always has been and always will be a blessing to me!

The restful Sunday turned into another trip in an ambulance to Kaiser in Sacramento for an emergency hole in my head the following day. My ambulance crew from SAFH to Kaiser was awesome too. I'm not accustomed to being vulnerable and they took such amazing care of me.

I received an MRI when I got to the Nuero floor at Kaiser and once the surgeon had a game plan we prepared for a 7:30 am surgery.

That night I posted to facebook around 11:30 pm to ask for prayers and support for my upcoming surgery. Funny enough, but I just literally saw all the posts to facebook that people made that FB hid!! I am again overwhelmed by love and support....

I'm tired right now as it was our first day out since it happened, so I will attempt to publish and update more tomorrow!

Blessings of Love and Light!!

bottom of page