top of page

Our First Week Home...After Brain Surgery...

So, three weeks ago tonight I was laying in the hospital bed thinking about my surgery that was to follow the next day. I had no idea how quickly it would all go and how soon I would actually be released. As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I was released from the hospital the Wednesday following my BRAIN SURGERY. Modern medicine is indeed amazing. Some have questioned that I perhaps should have stayed longer, but I am so glad that I was able to return to the comforts of my own home. Here’s a little bit about those first few days home…

My wonderful husband drove me home from Kaiser Wednesday evening (with a pitstop at CVS for my RX’s). I was so fortunate to come home to a beautiful and Christmas free home. Remember, all this went “down” right after Christmas. With three kids, I always try to do Christmas up right so that they have some fun memories to cherish. We had the most lights up we ever had, lots of items all over the house, as well as a tree. (Thankfully it was only a small tree this past year!)

Needless to say, it was a whole lotta Christmas around here. That being said, I have to take this moment to give a HUGE shout out to my bestie, Stephanie, her boys (KJ and Shazam), my step-boys (Jake and Andy), and their Mom, Courtney for coming over on Wednesday (totally their idea) and taking down everything so that I didn’t have to worry about a single thing except recovering. You are amazing ladies and we are raising some really special young men. Thank you guys from the bottom of my heart for doing all of that! AND, it was Jake’s 15th birthday….sorry buddy. We love you though and I hope we made it up to you!

Thus began the next phase of the healing process for us. Rob, was a total trooper. He had the bulk of the burden of everything to include waking up every four hours to give me my meds, taking care of me, our daughter, the animals, cleaning, and anything else you can think of. Honestly too, he was the one left alone not knowing what was going to happen to me and that is a huge weight on somone's soul. I really think it's harder on those who are the caregivers. I was pretty much helpless at that point and totally dependent on others. I couldn’t walk without assistance much less prepare meals. I alternated primarily from the couch to the bed and a short walk each day to get my strength back. Some of you will get a laugh out of this, but because I couldn’t talk well and I was all bandaged up, he made sure I at least had his coach’s whistle to use in case I needed him. Now if that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

So, each day that first week back home was a lesson in learning how to do “normal” again. I was able to take an assisted bath on Thursday which was amazing. I was so happy when Steph came over and washed my hair! It is truly a blessing to have a nurse as a BFF. Seriously. Everyone should have one.

It’s also a very humbling experience to go through something like this. I am so used to going 100 mph all the time and I couldn’t/ can’t. My first few days I was a cross between a toddler and a Granny- you know that point where you have to hold on to others to get around? That’s where I was. It was crazy to see how quickly my muscles atrophied in a big way. My strong, Paul legs, were just gone! I’ve got more strength today of course, but I am a long way from where I was. I am very thankful that I was fit and healthy before all this. I know just how much it has helped speed up my recovery. I cannot wait to get back out to the canyon trails. That thought gives me so much encouragement. I’m not saying I’m gonna do Training Hill next week, but maybe the Quarry trail in the near future. :) So quit making excuses and go climb something my friends!

During that first week, our families, friends, and neighbors brought us a ton of delicious food, checked in on us, sent flowers/ candy/ fruit/ chocolate covered strawberries, sent an amazing cleaning gal, helped with groceries and whatever else they could. The kids I was working with in Mr. Sussman’s 4th grade all made me the most awesome get well cards. Our WWII neighbor who still walks five miles a day (rain or shine), who is one of my hero’s, has kept his Army flag flying high for me during my recovery as well.

All in all, like I said, those first couple of days were an adjustment and a big sign from the universe to slow the heck down or something like that I guess. We survived week one and although it was stressful and hard and we are still in shock really, we are all the better for it. There’s much more to tell, but I will save that for tomorrow or the next day. Rob goes back to work tomorrow which is a little scary because he has been with me pretty much non-stop since my operation. If you know me, you know how independent I am, I don’t say that lightly… I am so thankful that we have so many incredible family members (Mom, Don, Dad, Sue, Bob, Arna, etc) and friends who have volunteered to help with the kids and anything else we might need. Our village is EXTRAORDINARY.

Thus starts another phase of this process of finding out what “normal” will look like for us. We will continue to adapt and overcome. I will leave you with one of my favorite quotes…

"Do What You Can, With What You Have, Where You Are."

– Teddy Roosevelt

Thanks again so much for continuing to read my blog, for your love, and your support for all of us. I pray that it is returned to you back in spades! Much love, light, happiness, and grace to ya'll. -Mel

bottom of page