top of page

Live Your Best Life Now


Happy Thursday wherever this finds you!

I still have lots of topics swirling though my brain for my blog- guess that’s what happens when they remove your tumor-so much more room in the grey matter for thoughts! My walnut is definitely healing :p As for a health status update, I am stilll getting better everyday. I may have slightly overdone it yesterday between going into PUB-LIC, trying to get back to "myself" at home, and the whole not sleeping thing. My dome is a little sore today, so I am taking it a bit easier... We'll get there...

What is really weighing on my heart at the moment is how much of a wakeup call this has been for so many. Not a wakeup call about me, but about what’s going on in the lives of others who don't necessarily share a lot about what’s going on in their own lives. I am overwhelmed by the side emails, PM’s, and conversations I have had in the past three weeks with others who are walking through their own fire. I applaud your grace and bravery in the heat of your own battles you are fighting.

I don’t want to overshare others personal journeys (only my own-TMI), but during this time I have learned of so many people in our "bubble" who have/ had tumors, who have had family members diagnosed with Stage IV cancers, others who have had seizures that can’t be explained, chronic diseases, and so much more. I am so honored that there are so many dear friends who have been willing to share their stories with me. I am touched beyond words that you have been willing to open up to me about your deeply personal journey's. It’s another reminder to be kind and compassionate to the people around you because you just never know what someone else might be going through- even if there’s a smile on their face.

During these past few weeks, there’s been so much that has transpired in our community and world. It is with a heavy heart that I type about the loss of a lovely PJH/PHS football Grandma who will be missed so very much by all. In the ying and yang of life, beautiful, healthy baby girls were born to dear friends during this time as well. The sun continues to rise and the sun continues to set. Apparently the planets have aligned this week according to the news. It can be difficult to reconcile all of these emotions of happiness, sadness, grief, anger, etc, but we must keep our eyes on the horizon and appreciate every single day we are given as the gift it is.

2015 was a tough year in many ways for us. We lost our dear Granny Moeller on Easter Sunday. She was one of my heroes and I miss her every single day. She really was the most supportive, encouraging, and loving Grandma’s you can imagine. I can still picture her so vividly standing at the gate of her Granny cottage with her beautiful smile, waving, and saying “I love you Sugar Babe.” I miss her. Go visit your Granny or Gramps. Don’t put it off until tomorrow…

A little over a month after we lost Granny, the medical device company I was working for did a major corporate restructuring and eliminated over 40 roles across the nation with zero notice. My branch was consolidated and several positions were eliminated- including mine. It’s quite a shock to have worked since you were literally 14 years old and then to be unemployed. The universe and its grand plan!

But, take not from this a “poor me post.” In fact, quite the opposite. Prior to being laid off, Rob and I decided it was time for an amazing vacation. We are much more the spend money on experiences and travel than “things” because “things” will never bring you the same level of joy or expansion of the soul. We had planned to take a dream vacation to Alaska. It was one of those situations where we really had to work out whether we would still go or not. Financially it might not have looked like the best decision to proceed with our trip, but in the end we said, “F- it. We might never get this chance again. Let’s do it.”

Right now, looking back it was by far the best decision we could have made. I don’t want to “What if?” my recent experience, but I am so thankful that we proceeded with our plans and we have these amazing memories of landing on glaciers in a Robinson 44 helicopter, doing some amazing fishing in Seward with some awesome people (Captains and Crew too of course!), kayaking through the glacier field with icebergs the size of a Costco, spending Summer solstice in Anchorage, driving down the amazing Kenai peninsula, spending some wonderful time with the very generous Penney family, and so much more. Life is meant to be experienced and not just something to “get through” each day.

We can’t live with the fear of dying every day, but we can encourage each other to live and live well- whatever that looks like for you. Go to Disneyland! Take the kids on a picnic! Go camping! Go reconnect with whatever your heart is telling you too. Please, in honor of those I spoke of earlier, go live a simply beautiful life with a good attitude. None of us are perfect, always make the best decisions, or are as patient or kind as we could be. And that’s all good! Just do the best to live YOUR best life, whatever that is for you!

We wouldn’t change our decision to go to Alaska for anything. Do you see the smile on Rob's face?! So worth it. It was truly an amazing experience that we cherish even more after the very unexpected events of the last few weeks. We are hoping that we can get the Dr. to clear me to fly to Baja in April so that we can spend some time fishing and relaxing on a beach with Dad and Sue and the kids. Take the time to make the memories. You just never know, so plan something fun in your life. Honest Abe said it best, “And in the end it is not the years in your life that count, it's the life in your years.” If you need a travel coordinator I have some time on my hands. LOL

I am so thankful for all of you and I hope that this blog encourages you to live a good, happy life that brings joy to yourself and others. Trust me, I know all too well that life’s not all rainbows and unicorns, but it’s also a lot about perspective. Much love to ya’ll and thanks for reading! -Mel


bottom of page