top of page

For the Love of a Golden Retriever


Status update…So, I’m doing well. I wouldn’t exactly say awesome, but I’m okay. My dome has been hurting this week unfortunately. I will ask the Nuero on Friday why he thinks it it might be sore. Maybe it’s just brain surgery. Hahaha. (Too early???) I honestly have not done a whole huge amount of research on all this as there’s too much information out there and it’s not all lovely. My goal is to stay on the a really upbeat and positive track and not inundate myself with information that will not benefit my recovery. I'm all about staying informed, but let's face it, sometimes there's just way too much information out there!

I have been reducing the steroids per my Docotors orders (apparently these have an honest to goodness nickname of the “Moonpie” pill), so I’ll be off of them as of Monday! The good thing about reducing the steroids is that my appetite is going back to normal-ish, but my energy level has also decreased. I slept last night thanks to an RX and Melatonin which was so amazing to actually sleep more than two hours, but it left me very groggy this AM. I also had the very first night of not waking up in a gross, cold sweat which was beyond wonderful. I thought about taking an honest selfie this AM to show my moonpie face, dark puffy under eyes, spiky, flat top looking hair line, and belly that looks like I’m about 4 months pregnant, but let’s face it…no one needs to see that…simply because THAT cannot be unseen. That is today’s real life status update… Now the more fun part of today's blog…

This one is for the animal lovers out there. Since returning from the hospital after surgery, I have had a shadow of sorts. Seriously. Our beautiful Golden Retriever, Sierra, has been at my side non-stop. She has slept by my side every night, been on every walk I have taken, and really gets a little upset at me when I have to leave her.

Animals are truly amazing and wonderful creatures and I believe that Golden’s really do have hearts of gold. She knew as soon as I got home that Wednesday night that something wasn’t right with me. She has always been so good about watching over Alex and I, but following my surgery she just knew that I needed to be taken care of and it was her job to look out for me. Being home alone this entire week, it has been such a comfort to have her with me! She literally sleeps next to me every night and the first couple of weeks she practically slept on top of me. What an amazing guard dog! She just knows...

Ironically enough, we decided to breed her in early December with Gauge, who is another beautiful Golden. Well, the gestation period for a Golden is about 62 days. Do the math. LOL Now, it appears that Sierra and I are convalescing together. Poor little thing is already panting, having a hard time getting comfortable, and just doesn’t quite understand what’s going on. BUT, she’s still right by my side!

We will be taking her to the fabulous, Dr. Kristy McCamy at Edgewood Veterinary Clinic next week for an ultrasound! Thanks Kristy- I can’t wait. Obviously when we breed Sierra we had no idea what was going to happen to me on that fateful day in December, but the puppies are coming! Ready or not! Hahaha. This should get interesting…:)

I have to also give a special shout out to Dr. Walt and Mrs. Nancy Drysdale (and their boys and their wives and kiddos) who are as close to family to us. They are Gauges “parents.” When I asked Nancy what she would like to do as far as working out the “Sire Fee,” her immediate response was not money or a pup from the litter, but that we donate a puppy to be a service dog for a local Veteran. Walt’s a highly decorated Vietnam Vet and their son Walter is serving in the Army and has had multiple deployments to all the “Hot Spots.” This is an amazing family and we will be so honored and proud to see one of Sierra’s kids go on to protect and serve a Vet who truly has earned the loyalty and love that only comes from a Golden.

I kinda sound like a Golden Retriever snob about now, so let me claify... We love all of our animals. They are such a blessing in so many ways. Not to bring down 2015 again, but we lost our cocker spaniel, Liberty Belle this past September. She was my Texas rescue dog I was lucky enough to be united with when I was stationed at Fort Hood. It was such a sasd loss for us and we will always miss her. In fact, this is so crazy, but one morning the first week I was home, I heard her bark. No joke. Just once. She had a very distinct bark and there’s no other dogs in our neighborhood who sound like Libby…She’s apparently keeping an eye on me too. We love and miss you Libby!!

Here’s too all the special animals out there who bless our lives everyday! Who’s really looking out for who?! I know that most of you will totally get this post, not everyone, but most of you! I hope that you all have a loyal someone in your lives looking out for you too. :) I will keep you updated on puppy watch as well. Here’s a few fun links on Golden’s, service dogs, and a possible training location for one of Sierra’s pups! Here's a picture of Sierra as a baby...

Thanks again for following my blog. XOXO, Mel


bottom of page